POLAROID

Creation 2022-23

The idea for POLAROID arose from listening to the radio. I was listening to a programme with Marie Richeux, in which a short text called POLAROID was read. A collection of these texts was then published. These texts never failed to intrigue me; I was fascinated by them. They often spawned images and specific imagery. In this collection, the preface captured my attention. It is a text by Georges Didi-Huberman in which he reveals his questions regarding the meaning of a literary Polaroid.

 

‘To focus’ on the very texture of things. To approach, lean in and give the minuscule its due place. Also, ‘to polarise’ the relationships that each thing has with the things around it: move, change the play of light and give consideration to spacing.

 

I asked myself what is a theatrical polaroid?

Experiences with students and interns confirmed interest in this approach, stemming from my experimental obsessions and preferences.

 

Fascination in this specific photographic technique, its appearance, relative immediacy and chromatic blend, that we see permeating an organic space and time, evokes theatricality in the image. In performing arts, the creative moment is the present. The creation of an image in a polaroid is also present and tangible.

©Paulo Duarte

Recalling a memory: impression n. m. (subst. from the verb to remember, 1080 Lat. subvenire ‘to come to mind’) What calls or can call to mind past experiences; an image that keeps and provides memory.

 

An image that ages, fades and changes…in itself, a polaroid is a tangible vector for memory and its transformations over time.

 

How do you create a theatrical polaroid? Create the acting, transformations live, see a memory cloud and fade, change…

 

Building from image work, compilations of personal memories, poems, I want to take on the challenge of creating a very personal hybrid play.

 

For the text, loosely and personally adapted, poetic material will be selected from writing by Hanne Bramness, Huguette Champroux, Marie Richeux, Georges Didi-Huberman, and Marc Augé among others.

 

For the images, a reflection process will be achieved around Polaroids by Daniel Blaufuks for example.

 

It is quite clear that our memory would be rapidly ‘saturated’ if we were to retain all images from our childhood, particularly those from our early childhood. But what remains – memories or vestiges – is produced from erosion through omission. Memories are eroded, through forgetting, like the edges of the shoreline by the sea. (...)There is therefore some kind of complicity between the land and sea, both of which have contributed to the slow process of elimination resulting in the current landscape. (...)

Forgetting, in other words, is the living strength of memory and recollection is the result.

Marc Augé, Les formes de l’oubli

 

Contacts

MECANIkA
16, Rue de Braine
34070 Montpellier / FRANCE
 

info@mecanika.net

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • White Vimeo Icon

Receive the newsletter

POLAROID

Création 2022-23

L’idée de POLAROID a germée en écoutant la radio.  J’écoutais un programme de Marie Richeux, dans lequel un court texte intitulé POLAROID était lu. Puis, un recueil de ces textes a été édité. Ces textes m’ont toujours intrigué, des fois fasciné, souvent ils ont fait naître des images et un imaginaire particulier.  Dans ce recueil, la préface a retenu mon attention. Il s’agit d’un texte de Georges Didi-Huberman, dans lequel il expose ses questionnements sur ce qu’est un Polaroid littéraire.

 

« se polariser » sur la texture même des choses. S’approcher, se pencher, donner sa place au minuscule.  Mais aussi, « polariser » les rapports que chaque chose entretient avec ses voisines : se déplacer, faire changer l’incidence de la lumière, donner sa place à l’intervalle. 

Je me suis posé la question de ce qu’est un polaroid théâtral. 
Des expériences avec des étudiants et des stagiaires, ont permis de vérifier l’intérêt pour cette approche, issue de mes obsessions et préférences expérimentales.  

La fascination pour cette technique photographique particulière, son aspect, son immédiateté relative, ses mélanges chromatiques, qu’on voit se répandre dans un espace temps organique m’évoque une théâtralité dans l’image.  Dans le spectacle vivant, le moment de la création est le présent. La création de l’image dans un polaroid est aussi au présent et matériel.  

©Paulo Duarte

L’évocation du Souvenir : impression n. m. (subst. du v. se souvenir, 1080 lat.  subvenire « se présenter à l’esprit ») Ce qui revient ou peut revenir à l’esprit des expériences passées ; image que garde et fournit la mémoire.


Une image qui vieillit, s’efface, se transforme… en soi, le polaroid est un vecteur matériel de la mémoire et de ses transformations avec le temps.

Comment créer un polaroid théâtral ? Créer le jeu en direct, les transformations, voir un souvenir submerger et s’effacer, se transformer… 

En partant d’un travail d’image, de compilations de souvenirs personnels, de poèmes, je veux prendre le pari de créer une pièce hybride qui parle à l’intime.  

Pour le texte, dans une adaptation libre et personnelle,  de la matière poétique sera prise dans les écrits de Hanne Bramness, Huguette Champroux, Marie Richeux, Georges Didi-Huberman, et Marc Augé entre autres. 

Pour les images, un travail de réflexion sera réalisé autour des Polaroids de Daniel Blaufuks notamment.

Il est  bien  évident que  notre mémoire serait  vite  « saturée » si nous devions conserver toutes les images de notre enfance, en particulier celles  de notre toute première enfance. Mais  c’est ce qui  reste – souvenirs ou trace - ce qui  est produit d’une érosion par l’oubli. Les souvenirs sont façonnés par l’oubli comme les contours du  rivage par la mer.  (...) Quelque chose donc, de la complicité entre la mer  et la terre,  qui  ont  contribué  toutes deux au long  travail d’élimination dont le paysage actuel est le résultat. (...)
L’oubli, en somme, est la force  vive  de la mémoire et le souvenir en est le produit.

Marc Augé, Les formes de l’oubli

 

Contacts

MECANIkA
16, Rue de Braine
34070 Montpellier / FRANCE
 

info@mecanika.net

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • White Vimeo Icon

Recevoir la newsletter