ARCHIVES 2002-2012

© Nicolas Lelièvre | © Cristophe Loiseau | © Estelle Chaigne | © Paulo Duarte  | © MECANIkA 

PLUG

PLUG creates a virtual status of wandering on the stage. This show explores various ways of introducing and integrating spectators in an ever-changing visual space. The internet is a fertile ground for meandering. For web users it represents a window of opportunity to all permutations and fictions. Friction between reality and virtual are therefore at the forefront of the dramatic narrative of this creation. Intrigued by the net‘s resources, the character PLUG, the ‘connected’ person, considered part of the machine, is captured in a spider web where identity multiplies, where the porous plausibility is readily penetrated by with anomalies. PLUG is therefore less a pure reconstitution of the web environment than a stroll allowing for bewilderment, the accidental, astonishment and fantasy, through the extensive virtual arena.

Conception Paulo Duarte

Creative interpretation Paulo Duarte, Pierre Tual, Uta Gebert
Sound universe, programming, video interfaces Morgan Daguenet
Light design and stage management Fabien Bossard
Dramaturgy Celine Cartillier

 

A production MECANIkA 
Coproduction TNB – Théâtre National de Bretagne, Festival Mettre en Scène, Rennes, MA Scène Nationale de Montbéliard – [ars]numerica,
Le Manège de Mons, CECN2 Centre Écritures Contemporaines Numériques, L’Aire Libre, scène conventionnée pour le théâtre/Saint Jacques de la Lande, DICRéAM – Dispositif pour la Création Artistique Multimédia / CNC, FR
With the support of DRAC Bretagne,
Conseil Régional de Bretagne, Conseil Général d’Ile et Vilaine, Ville de Rennes, FIMFA, Festival Internacional de Marionetas e Formas Animadas, Lisbonne (PT)
Teatro de Ferro, Porto (PT)

 

CREATION 2011
 

PETITES ÂMES

‘Alminhas’ (little souls): popular Portuguese expression designating a monument on the side of a path that marks an event. Petites âmes is about the way in which memory is formed. Spirits pass through and objects remain. Petites âmes attempts to mark the spirits of the living, to leave a trace and question our notion of time.
Through Petites âmes, Paulo Duarte proposes a poetic and visual universe that relates to and questions memory. Play on perception and visual impairment question the subjectivity of memory, the body conveying experience.

 

Conception and interpretation Paulo Duarte
Sound universe, programming, video interfaces Morgan Daguenet
Video  Nicolas Lelièvre
Light design and stage management Fabien Bossard
Artistic collaboration Renaud Herbin and Julika Mayer


A production MECANIkA
Coproduction Bonlieu – scène nationale d’Annecy, LàOù – marionnette contemporaine, Rennes


CREATION 2008

DEEP NEWS #2

Is it possible to face reality when it is portrayed so darkly in our daily newspapers? Mr D tries his luck and immerses himself with great gusto into the news.

MECANIkA encourages reflection through this small form of visual theatre combining shadow, light, video, puppet and DIY.

DEEP NEWS #2 is a miniature form of visual theatre blending several techniques. It’s a metaphor for the power of the imagination connecting daily news from a paper and the most intimate fantasies. In a space that is urban and routine at the beginning, a reader is surrounded by imaginary beings, compelled to eventually plunge… the ultimate mise en abime is an image of an everlasting return.

The miniature stage draws the spectator close to the making of the images between illusion and technical honesty.

Conception et interpretation Paulo Duarte
Light Fabien Bossard
Programming and music Morgan Daguenet
Thanks Boualeme Ben-Gueddach

 

A production MECANIkA 

Petite forme de théâtre visuel créée à l’occasion du VI Great Small Works Toy Theater Festival (NY), janvier 2003. Recréation en 2013 sous le titre DEEP NEWS # 2 – la même histoire racontée autrement.

 

CREATION 2013
 

ÉCUMES

Écumes is a show loosely inspired by the world of Boris Vian.

The human body changes its presence. The character called Chloé, performed by a dancer, dematerialises as and when the puppets and video intervene. Colin’s body forms as the play progresses …from a single eye to a complete anthropomorphic form. His aim to reach Chloé fails when Chloé turns into pixels. The space and objects are also worked along these lines.

 

Creation end direction Paulo Duarte and Nuria Legarda
Music Tyler Futrell
Video editing Mélanie Pavy
Light design Julián Arnau
Artistic collaborations David Girondin Moad, Miguel Rubio, Teresa Garcia


A production Pseudonymo (FR) N Naranja (ES)
Coproduction A Tarumba, Lisbonne (PT), O Espaço do Tempo, Montemor-O-Novo (PT), ORCCA, La Comédie de Reims, Espace Périphérique - La Villette, MIRA !(ES/FR/PT), Festival Internacional de Teatre Visual i Tittelles, Barcelone (ES), Generalitat de Catalunya (ES)
With the support of Erre Que Erre, Barcelone (ES) 


CREATION 2006

THE DEVIL’S HOUR

A HORA DO DIABO

Loosely inspired by the eponymous work by Fernando Pessoa

 

The notion of drifting and wandering is central to this work. It is at play through the multiplicity of identities, one of the Portuguese speaking poet’s favourite themes. In this solo combining puppets and projections, the visual and dramatic universe appeals to a mental journey.

Conception and interpretation Paulo Duarte
Light design and stage management Boualeme Ben-Gueddach
Sound design and original theme Julien Rigaud
Artistic collaborations David Girondin Moab and Judith Perron

 

A production Pseudonymo

Coproduction Institut International de la Marionnettes, Charleville-Mézières, Festival Scènes Ouvertes à L’insolite, Paris

With the support of DRAC – Champagne Ardennes

 

CREATION 2002
 

 

Contacts

MECANIkA
16, Rue de Braine
34070 Montpellier / FRANCE
 

info@mecanika.net

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • White Vimeo Icon

Receive the newsletter

© Nicolas Lelièvre | © Cristophe Loiseau | © Estelle Chaigne | © Paulo Duarte  | © MECANIkA 

PLUG crée sur la scène une situation virtuelle d’errance. Ce spectacle explore les processus d’embarquement du sujet dans un espace en perpétuelle mutation. Terrain propice à la divagation, le web constitue pour l’internaute une fenêtre ouverte à toutes les métamorphoses, à toutes les fictions. Les frictions entre réalité et virtualité sont ainsi au cœur de la dramaturgie de cette création. Captivé par les ressources du réseau, le personnage de PLUG, l’être « branché », faisant partie de la machine se trouve capturé dans une toile arachnéenne où l’identité semble se démultiplier, où la vraisemblance, poreuse, est volontiers percée d’aberrations. PLUG est donc moins une reconstitution stricte de l’environnement web qu’une balade permettant l’égarement, l’accident, la stupéfaction, le fantasme, à travers les champs immenses de la virtualité.

Conception Paulo Duarte
Interprétation créative Paulo Duarte, Pierre Tual, Uta Gebert
Univers sonore, programmation, interfaces vidéo Morgan Daguenet
Création lumière et régie générale Fabien Bossard
Dramaturgie Celine Cartillier

 

Une production MECANIkA 
Coproduction TNB – Théâtre National de Bretagne, Festival Mettre en Scène, Rennes, MA Scène Nationale de Montbéliard – [ars]numerica,
Le Manège de Mons, CECN2 Centre Écritures Contemporaines Numériques, L’Aire Libre, scène conventionnée pour le théâtre/Saint Jacques de la Lande, DICRéAM – Dispositif pour la Création Artistique Multimédia / CNC, FR
Avec le soutiens de DRAC Bretagne,
Conseil Régional de Bretagne, Conseil Général d’Ile et Vilaine, Ville de Rennes, FIMFA, Festival Internacional de Marionetas e Formas Animadas, Lisbonne (PT)
Teatro de Ferro, Porto (PT)

 

CRÉATION 2011
 

Les «alminhas» (petites âmes) : l’expression populaire portugaise désigne un monument au bord d’un chemin qui marque un événement. Petites âmes traite la façon dont se constitue le souvenir. Les esprits passent, les objets restent. Les petites âmes tentent de marquer les esprits des vivants, de laisser une trace, d’interroger notre notion du temps.
À travers Petites âmes, Paulo Duarte propose un univers poétique et visuel qui touche et interroge le souvenir. Des jeux de  perceptions et de troubles visuels posent la question de la subjectivité de la mémoire, le corps comme véhicule du  vécu.

 

Conception et interprétation Paulo Duarte
Univers sonore, programmation, interfaces video Morgan Daguenet
Vidéo  Nicolas Lelièvre
Création lumière et régie générale Fabien Bossard
Collaboration artistique Renaud Herbin et Julika Mayer


Une production MECANIkA
Coproduction Bonlieu – scène nationale d’Annecy, LàOù – marionnette contemporaine, Rennes


CRÉATION 2008

Est-il possible de faire face à la réalité lorsqu’elle s’étale avec noirceur dans notre journal quotidien ? Monsieur D tente sa chance et plonge dans les informations avec avidité.
MECANIkA vous invite à la réflexion à travers cette petite forme de théâtre visuel mélangeant ombres, lumière, vidéo, marionnette et bricolage…
DEEP NEWS #2 est une forme miniature de théâtre visuel mélangeant plusieurs techniques. C’est une métaphore du pouvoir de l’imaginaire liant les informations quotidiennes d’un journal et les fantasmes les plus intimes.  Dans un espace au départ urbain et quotidien, un lecteur va se voir entouré d’êtres imaginaires, se sentir attiré pour enfin plonger… la mise en abime final c’est une image d’un éternel retour.
Le dispositif scénique, miniaturisé, approche le spectateur de la fabrique des images entre illusion et sincérité technique

Conception et interprétation Paulo Duarte
Lumières Fabien Bossard
Programmation et musique Morgan Daguenet
Remerciements Boualeme Ben-Gueddach

 

Une production MECANIkA 

Petite forme de théâtre visuel créée à l’occasion du VI Great Small Works Toy Theater Festival (NY), janvier 2003. Recréation en 2013 sous le titre DEEP NEWS # 2 – la même histoire racontée autrement.

 

CRÉATION 2013
 

Écumes est un spectacle librement inspiré de l’univers de Boris Vian. 
Le corps humain modifie sa présence. Le personnage nommé Chloé, interprété par une danseuse, se dématérialise au fur à mesure de l’intervention des marionnettes et de la vidéo. Le corps de Colin se constitue fur à mesure de la pièce … d’un simple œil à une forme anthropomorphe toute constitué. Son objectif d’atteindre Chloé échouera par la transformation en pixel de Chloé. L’espace et des objets sont aussi travaillés dans ce sens.

 

Création et direction Paulo Duarte et Nuria Legarda
Musique Tyler Futrell
Montage vidéo Mélanie Pavy
Lumières Julián Arnau
Collaborations artistiques David Girondin Moad, Miguel Rubio, Teresa Garcia


Une production Pseudonymo (FR) N Naranja (ES)
Coproduction A Tarumba, Lisbonne (PT), O Espaço do Tempo, Montemor-O-Novo (PT), ORCCA, La Comédie de Reims, Espace Périphérique - La Villette, MIRA !(ES/FR/PT), Festival Internacional de Teatre Visual i Tittelles, Barcelone (ES), Generalitat de Catalunya (ES)
Avec le soutien de Erre Que Erre, Barcelone (ES) 


CRÉATION 2006

Librement inspiré de l’œuvre éponyme de Fernando Pessoa

L’idée de dérive, d’errance, est au centre de ce travail. Elle est en jeu au travers de la multiplicité d’identités, thème de prédilection du poète lusophone. Dans ce solo associant marionnettes et projections, l’univers plastique et dramaturgique appelle à un voyage mental.

Conception, et interprétation Paulo Duarte
Lumières et régie générale Boualeme Ben-Gueddach
Univers sonore et thème original Julien Rigaud
Collaboration artistique David Girondin Moab et Judith Perron

 

Une production Pseudonymo

Coproduction Institut International de la Marionnettes, Charleville-Mézières, Festival Scènes Ouvertes à L’insolite, Paris

Avec le soutien de la DRAC – Champagne Ardennes

 

CRÉATION 2002
 

 

Contacts

MECANIkA
16, Rue de Braine
34070 Montpellier / FRANCE
 

info@mecanika.net

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • White Vimeo Icon

Recevoir la newsletter